Löwenruh park is a romantic four hectares park area in the middle of circle pond situated in the corner of Mustamäe and Linnu streets. From the historical Löwenruh manor park, a circle shape pond and tree canopy from the middle of 19th century remain. The name of the park comes from the former owner Von Löwen name. Since 1993 the park is a nature conservation area and in 2004 major cleaning and deepening works took place at the pond.Tallinn, Estonia
This open, garden-like area on the slopes of Toompea hill happens to be the legendary birthplace of the Danish flag.
Nestled between the city wall and Lower Town, this relaxing spot is called the Danish King's Garden because it was supposedly here that King Valdemar II of Denmark and his troops camped before conquering Toompea in 1219.
More importantly, a well-known legend both in Estonia and Denmark holds that the Danish flag, the Dannebrog, originated right here. According to the story, Valdemar's forces were losing their battle with the Estonians when suddenly the skies opened and a red flag with a white cross floated down from the heavens. Taking this as a holy sign, the Danes were spurred on to victory.
Today the garden remains a place where locals honour the role Denmark played in Estonia's history. Halfway down the steps towards Rüütli street you can see an iron sword and shield with a Danish cross, and each summer, Danneborg Day is celebrated here.Tallinn, Estonia
The Tallinn Television Tower in Pirita is the tallest building in Tallinn and Estonia with 314 metres. The TV Tower is a great tourist, culture and leisure centre.
Waiting for you at the tower: a panoramic view from 170 metres, brasserie/restaurant and terrace on the 22nd floor; interactive multimedia solutions that introduce Estonia and Tallinn; view of the ground through the glass floor of the platform; futuristic interior milieu; attractions for children; mini TV studio, gift shop.Tallinn, Estonia
The unique history and culture of Estonia's coastal dwellers comes to life in a cosy old schoolhouse on the Viimsi peninsula.
Located in the ancient, seaside village of Pringi, a 30-minute drive from central Tallinn, the museum shows the many facets of Estonia’s coastal folk life, both historic and modern.
There are numerous displays and artefacts for visitors to explore as well as educational and artistic programmes.
A sea-themed playroom for children, complete with a wooden ship and sea-related costumes, introduces the next generation to the seaside lifestyle. The museum also has a bookshop presenting a choice of marine-themed books and souvenirs.Tallinn, Estonia
Toompea Castle was erected on the foundations of the crumbling eastern wing of the fortress built on the site in the 13th and 14th centuries. Eyecatching for its late baroque facade, the castle was built between 1767 and 1773.
The history of Toompea is the story of the rulers and conquerors of Tallinn, each of whom moulded and reinforced the place to their own needs and according to their own taste. Today the castle is home to the Riigikogu (the Estonian parliament). The blue, black and white of the national flag can be seen flying on top of the 45-metre Tall Hermann tower as the symbol of Estonia's independence.Tallinn, Estonia
The medieval church that stands at the centre of Toompea hill is one of the country's most fascinating historic attractions.
Established sometime before 1233 and repeatedly rebuilt since, the church displays a mix of architectural styles. Its vaulted main body dates to the 14th century, while its Baroque tower was an addition from the late 1770s.
Historically this was the church of Estonia's elite German nobles, a fact that becomes clear once you step through the doors. The interior is filled with elaborate funereal coats of arms from the 17th to the 20th centuries as well as burial stones from the 13th to the 18th centuries. Among the notables buried here are Pontus de la Gardie, who commanded Swedish forces during the Great Northern War, Adam Johann von Krusenstern, the Baltic-German admiral who led Russia's first expedition around the world, and Scottish-born Admiral Samuel Greig of Fife, rumoured to be Catherine the Great's lover.
Christian Ackermann, one of the most skilful and renowned woodcarvers in 17th - 18th century, made the pulpit (1686) and the altar (1694-1696).
Just inside the main entrance you'll find a large stone slab which reads, "Otto Johann Thuve, landlord of Edise, Vääna and Koonu Ehis grave, 1696 A.D." Thuve, now sometimes referred to as "Tallinn's Don Juan", was an incurable drinker and womaniser. As he lay dying, he asked to be buried here at the threshold of the church so that God-fearing people, as they kneel to pray upon entering, might eventually cleanse his soul.
In addition to seeing the church's amazing interior, visitors can opt to climb the 69-metre, Baroque bell- tower for amazing views of the city.Tallinn, Estonia
This open area at the edge of Old Town is a place of national symbolism and civic pride, as well as a favourite gathering spot.
From the last days of the Tsars and through Estonia's first period of independence, Freedom Square (Vabaduse väljak) was a place of parades and fanfare, but fell into neglect during the Soviet and post-Soviet period. In 2009, after extensive renovation, it was restored to its former glory.
Now it's a sophisticated place to relax, filled with benches and cafés, and faced by two art galleries. Most of all this is one of best places to see evidence of the city's 1930s-era building boom, with art-deco and functionalist buildings flanking two sides of the square. The large pillar with the cross that dominates the west side of the square is one of its new features. This is the Monument to the War of Independence, commemorating Estonia's hard-fought struggle in 1918 – 1920 to free itself of foreign rule.
To get a glimpse of the square's older history, all you have to do is look down. A glass panel in the street on the northwest corner of the square reveals the foundation and stairs of the Harju Gate tower, which stood here in medieval times.Tallinn, Estonia
Established in 2007, Tallinn's Synagogue is by far the most modern house of worship in the city.
It was a long time coming. During World War II, the Jewish community that had existed in Tallinn was all but wiped out, and its Synagogue bombed. In the years following the war, a few native Jews returned to Tallinn, joined by many more Russian Jews, but the Soviet regime had outlawed any open observance of Judaism.
It was only after Estonia regained independence in 1991 that a real Jewish religious community was re-established here. It started with a cultural centre, then a Jewish school. In 2000, following the appointment of Rabbi Shmuel Kot as the chief rabbi of Estonia, a prayer centre was set up in a nearby building.
With the opening of the Synagogue, the Jewish community was given a new focus. In addition to hosting religious services and Jewish holiday celebrations in its 200-seat main hall, it oversees the preparation and distribution of kosher food, as well as hosting a Mikvah and a Jewish museum.Tallinn, Estonia
For a true taste of 21st century Tallinn, take a stroll through this factory area turned bustling commercial/cultural centre.
Its avant-garde architecture stands as a powerful symbol of just how far the city has come in re-inventing itself in recent times. Until just a few years ago, the Rotermann factory area between Old Town and the Passenger Port was little more than a collection of dilapidated buildings, discarded leftovers of late 19th and early 20th-century industry. Now the area has been magnificently-restored and serves as home to a number of shops and restaurants, as well as an active cultural scene. The quarter's main square is often used for festivals and outdoor performances.Tallinn, Estonia
Set right by the sea, this assembly of old farm buildings gives an excellent overview of 1920s fishing village life.
The museum is in fact the historic, coastal farm of Kingu, a relatively prosperous farm where, along with agriculture, fishing played a huge role in daily life.
The farm complex today consists of a farmhouse with a barn from the 1920s, a dwelling from the early 20th century, a separate barn, and houses belonging to fishermen Krüger and Silberfeldt.
Exhibits here display old fishing tools, showing the ways in which they were used.Tallinn, Estonia